Posted by: will | May 4, 2006

Jesu…

Jesu "Silver" (Hydrahead)

I have to say that I am quite embarrassed that this is my first exposure to the sounds of Justin Broadrick. Broadrick was the founding member of the influential bands, Napalm Death and Godflesh. He has now continued on with Jesu. From what I know of his former bands I think that Jesu is probably the only one that would be up my alley. It's certainly a prolific lineage though.

Silver is a precursor EP to the band's upcoming full-length later this year and it is an incredibly confident effort. Silver contains four songs that clock in at close to 29 minutes. Jesu play an intriguing combination of post-rock/metal mixed in with definite shoegazing tendencies. The band that I continue to be reminded of when listening to Silver is Hum. That's a hell of a compliment by itself. Vocalist Justin Broadrick has an eerily similar soothing vocal styling to that of Matt Talbott of Hum. The music backing Broadrick's vocals is downright hypnotizing at times. It is certainly akin to Jesu labelmates and current genre giants Isis and Pelican as well. It's an utterly engrossing listen.

Color me impressed with Silver. I will certainly be delving into Jesu's Self-titled debut soon as I eagerly await their upcoming full length. I advise you do the same.

RIYL: Hum, Isis, Pelican

Listen: Jesu "Silver" mp3 samples 


Responses

  1. this ep is good, s/t is better though =). i meant to tell you thanks for the link earlier, so i am doing that now…and also, if you really wanted to shake things up, i think it’d be cool if you posted an mp3 for the reviews…megaupload is pretty nice and i don’t think they have a download limit like yousendit..so that is my suggestion, but i mostly came to say thanks!

  2. thanks sah. i have definitely thought about an mp3 link before. i agree with you…that’s a good idea that i think people will like. thanks for the suggestion.


Leave a comment

Categories