Posted by: will | March 1, 2008

Weekend Musings…

– I apologize for things being a little slow around here lately. Working 17 out of the last 19 days will do that. I guess that is what happens when you work for family but that’s a whole different subject. I am finally enjoying a full weekend off.

Music Review links have been updated (finally). Twelve of the releases I have reviewed this year have been self-released affairs. And a bunch others have been on smaller labels. Kudos to all those particular artists/bands/labels. Good DIY releases will ALWAYS take precedent here at SAL.

– With that being said, I think the time of proper album reviews might be ending here shortly. I just feel like I can cover more worthy stuff and do it quicker (instead of sitting on things for weeks/months) if I’m not constantly trying to find time to write reviews. Inevitably that just leads to me only writing reviews for my favorite stuff. Other things that are relevant unfortunately continue to fall by the wayside. Not sure what the new format will be just yet.

– Hilarious —> Stuff White People Like
Apparently I am not nearly as white as my girlfriend. But they might have me on this one: #41 Indie Music “To a white person, being a fan of a band before they get popular is one of the most important things they can do with their life.”

– Shout out to Thank God, a great Columbia band who has matured tremendously since I first saw them play. They are putting out a ton of releases and I am left thoroughly impressed by them all.

– For peeps who have grown up and/or lived in Columbia, SC for a significant amount of time, check out this blog. I’m fascinated by this. This particular post takes me back. That Richway store was right around the block from where I grew up. The store was also a Gold Circle and eventually became a Target. Anyway, to make a long story short I stole a GI Joe ninja (second row, all white) from this place but my Mom discovered I had it in the parking lot and made me take it back in. Apparently, that was a 1984 series GI Joe…crazy! I’m old. Hell, if I did that now they’d probably lock my ass up.

Bookmark and Share

Responses

  1. they should just lock your ass up for me having to read all this swill. 🙂

  2. sucka


Leave a Reply

Categories

