Posted by: will | February 5, 2008

Music Review – Jacob And I

BEST NEW MUSIC

Jacob And I “Shadout Mapes” (Self-Released)

Jacob And I hail from Columbia and Charleston, SC respectively. The band is not your typical instrumental outfit. Jacob And I’s debut EP, Shadout Mapes, shows off a remarkable maturity as well as a unique approach to instrumental music. The songs are tense, yet playful enough to draw any instrumental or math rock fan in. The band adds a jazzy element into the mix as well. Besides the obvious talent, what stands out about Jacob And I is the band’s setup. Two bassists and a drummer combine to form a rich, creative backbone. The four songs here beckon the listener back time and time again as they reveal more with each listen. Even though no song crosses over the three minute mark there is an undeniable epic quality to the band’s songs. Jacob And I pack more into 3 minutes than your normal instrumental group does across an entire album. Jacob And I are the post-rock band for the ADD inflicted. Shadout Mapes is ambient, jazzy post-math rock instrumental bliss! Yeah, I think that about sums it up.

(You can download Jacob And I’s debut EP, Shadout Mapes, here.)

Genre: Instrumental/Rock

RIYL: Algernon Cadwallader, Pele, Street Smart Cyclist

Twelve

www.myspace.com/jacobandi

Responses

  1. This is a bit of a sleeper album for me. It’s good, don’t get me wrong, but it’s one of those that doesn’t instantly climb up my play list. But it’s growing on me. I’m not giving up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

