Posted by: will | August 24, 2007

Show Review – The Gaslight Anthem…

p8220023.jpg

I am taking Friday off…but I did want to make a spotlight post about The Gaslight Anthem. Oh, and to boast about finally remembering to take pictures at a show instead of just drinking. Anyway, I saw The Gaslight Anthem play here in Columbia earlier in the week. The band was sandwiched in on a show that certainly was not the best of matches. Here in Columbia, we take what we can get though. The lineup did not seem to matter one bit to the band as they tore through a brilliant set of songs. The Gaslight Anthem’s set was heavy with songs from the band’s debut, Sink Or Swim. The anthemic quality of the band shines bright in a live setting. Songs like “Wooderson”, “We Came To Dance”, “I’da Called You Woody, Joe”, “Angry Johnny And The Radio” and “We’re Getting A Divorce, You Keep The Diner” were all part of the band’s energetic set list. It is a great feeling to see a band that is obviously doing it simply for the love of the music. You could see the guys had a blast playing these songs together. The Gaslight Anthem’s music is full of grit and passion and the sing-alongs were plentiful.

Sink Or Swim has been the pleasant surprise album for me in 2007. This show only enhanced my enthusiasm towards the band. Check out my interview with vocalist/guitarist Brian Fallon and the review for Sink Or Swim below. The interview is definitely one my SAL favorites.

The Gaslight Anthem Interview

The Gaslight Anthem Album Review

The Gaslight Anthem – I’da Called You Woody, Joe (mp3)

The Gaslight Anthem – Angry Johnny And The Radio (mp3)

The Gaslight Anthem – Drive (video)

www.myspace.com/thegaslightanthem

Responses

  1. Will,

    “Here in Columbia, we take what we can get…” Truer words were never spoken. I’m surprised I haven’t run across this blog (or you – how did I not know someone in town worked for Deep Elm?) sooner, but I’m trying desperately to catch up with your back entries. Keep up the good work.

  2. Thanks for stopping by and the kind words Patrick!


Leave a Reply

Categories

