Posted by: will | August 13, 2007

She’s Spanish, I’m American…

She’s Spanish, I’m American “She’s Spanish, I’m American” (Nettwork America)

If you are familiar with folk/rock/pop troubadour Josh Rouse then She’s Spanish, I’m American will come as a surprise listen for you. Rouse has hooked up with his Spanish girlfriend, Paz Suay, to form this intimate side project. If you are a fan of lighthearted indie pop these five songs deliver upon each listen. Suay, who sang on Rouse’s last album Subtitulo, takes lead for two songs on this EP. While Rouse takes a bit of a backseat it works out just fine. Suay’s voice fits the breezy pop music to a tee. I can not help but being reminded of Victoria Bergsman’s sweet vocals as I listen to Suay. Bergsman once helmed The Concretes and is widely known as the female voice in Peter Bjorn And John‘s “Young Folks” song. Rouse steps in on occasion and delivers his usual strong, yet understated performance. It is rather easy to tell that Rouse and Suay have a brilliant attraction and connection when listening to these songs. She’s Spanish, I’m American is not something I will gravitate to listen too often, but when I do, it sure is enjoyable.

RIYL: The Concretes, Peter Bjorn And John, Shout Out Louds

Listen: She’s Spanish, I’m American – Answers (mp3)

www.myspace.com/shesspanishimamerican

Leave a Reply

Categories

