Posted by: will | June 7, 2007

Band Marino…

Band Marino “The Sea & The Beast” (Street Parade)

BUY HERE!

Every once in a while a band comes along that leaves me completely confused. Upon my first few listens, Band Marino is one of those bands that left me at a complete loss for words. In fact, I was quite sure that I did not like what the band was doing on The Sea & The Beast one bit…I just did not know how to write about it. That is a good thing as The Sea & The Beast has made up a fair amount of ground in my book with each subsequent listen.

Band Marino are an indie-folk band from Florida and this is their debut album. It’s impressive in its scope considering this is the work of a band in their infancy. Instrumentally, the band employs strings, harmonica, mandolins and banjos for an incredibly full and diverse sound. The band can go from rousing rock songs like “I Have A Dream” and “Arlee Hayes” to melancholy ballads like “Feel It In The Air” and “Chasing Rainbows” at the drop of a hat. The humorous “Every Time I Make A Girl Cry I Know I’ve Done My Job” might be one of the year’s best songs. “Someday We All Must Die” is an anthemic song that stands out as well as it showcases the band’s varied instrumental attack. “Como Se Dice Señorita, Act 1: The Layman’s Lament” sounds like an ode to great early Clinic material. On the downside, the band does seem to spread themselves a little too thin with too much genre-jumping. It’s enough to make the listener dizzy at times. On the bright side, Band Marino covers an awful lot of ground on The Sea & The Beast so you are bound to like something here.

The Sea & The Beast is an exciting listen but often just as frustrating. Some of these songs fail to leave their mark. The good news is that when the band does get it right they write some remarkable songs. Potential and talent are written all over the band’s debut. With a little more focus, Band Marino might be well on their way to something very special.

RIYL: Clinic, Calexico, The Pixies

Listen:

Band Marino – Every Time I Make A Girl Cry I Know I’ve Done My Job (mp3)

Band Marino – Someday We All Must Die (mp3)

www.myspace.com/bandmarino

Leave a Reply

Categories

