Posted by: will | September 13, 2006

Mew…

BEST NEW MUSIC

Mew “And The Glass Handed Kites” (Sony)

Buy it at Insound!

And The Glass Handed Kites is a record I have been dreading to write about. It’s surely not because I don’t love this album cause I certainly do. This album is just so massive in it’s musical scope that I knew it would be difficult to put across into mere words. Mew are a Danish band that I have been hearing about for quite awhile now. However, until this record was released in the States recently, I had never actually heard the band. Now, I am kicking myself for not discovering them earlier.

Mew play a staggering brand of dreamy pop music. It’s one that owes equal debts to post-rock, indie rock and the shoegazing scene of the early nineties…most notably My Bloody Valentine. The album starts off with “Circuitry Of The Wolf”, which is a moving instrumental track. “Why Are You Looking Grave” is my favorite song on the album. It’s a gorgeous track that really encompasses all that makes Mew so special. And J. Mascis of Dinosaur Jr. fame makes an incredible appearance here on vocals. The angelic quality of “The Zookeeper’s Boy” is reminiscent of the finest My Bloody Valentine songs. I implore that if you love My Bloody Valentine you give Mew a listen. That void that you never thought would be filled might possibly no longer exist afterwards.”An Envoy To Open Fields” sees J. Mascis making another return with his vocals that seemingly fit the music rather perfectly. The album’s last two tracks, “White Lips Kissed” and “Louise Louisa” run for a combined 14 minutes and are epic endings for And The Glass Handed Kites. “White Lips Kissed” is backed by swirling synths and marching drums that carry the weight against the delicate vocals of Jonas Bjerre. “Louise Louisa” is highligted by the drum playing of Silas Graae which is noticeable throughout the album. The ending lyrics sung by Bjerre of Stay with me/ Don’t want to be alone are truly affecting.

One thing I have yet to mention is the flow on this record. It is extraordinary…every track blends perfectly into the next song and really adds to the whole listening experience. Mew have made a monumental record here. I truly feel that And The Glass Handed Kites will be an album that people will still be talking about years from now. This record is simply huge. I can not imagine how much time and effort, not to mention talent, went into it all. It’s nothing short of mind-blowing. It’s one of those albums that is hard to describe to people. It leaves you with a dumb smile on your face after you listen. How the hell do you explain something like that? Well, quite simply, And The Glass Handed Kites is everything an album should be and more.

RIYL: My Bloody Valentine, The Smashing Pumpkins, Radiohead

Listen: Mew – Why Are You Looking Grave (mp3)

Responses

  1. I think I need to hear the whole album to get what you mean. This track is good, but I’m not listening with a dumb smile (maybe just a lopsided grin). Glad you’re back.


Leave a Reply

Categories

