Posted by: will | July 7, 2006

Kimya Dawson…

Kimya Dawson “Remember That I Love You (K Records)

Sometimes I find myself falling for albums that I would never imagine myself to even really like. That seems to be what has happened with Kimya Dawson’s Remember That I Love You. This is my first exposure to Dawson. However, she has been around as a part of NYC’s anti-folk movement and was originally in the band The Moldy Peaches. Dawson has the wonderful innocence of a child that runs through her music. Dawson sings in a rapid fire style stream of conscious. Her lyrics are simple but in turn speak so eloquently on a whole host of subjects.

The track “My Mom” speaks to the illness of Dawson’s mom that obviously consumes her. “Loose Lips” is a biting ode towards Bush. It speaks to the desperate times that we live in and the desperate measures that some people feel the need to take. “I Like Giants” is a funny and uplifting tune that takes satisfaction in knowing that we are but a small spec in the grand scheme of life. “12/26” speaks to the devastation of the Tsunami and the failure of governments like the US to do more.

I’m jealous of people who are completely comfortable in their skin. Kimya Dawson is certainly one of those people. Listening to Dawson’s ramblings on life is inspiring to say the least. If more people looked at life the way Dawson does the world would quite simply be a much better place.

RIYL: The Moldy Peaches, Ani DiFranco, Regina Spektor

Listen: Kimya Dawson – 12/26 (mp3)

Responses

  1. She’s great and she reminds me of a stripped down PJ Harvey. Great lyrics, she’s very clever.


Leave a Reply

Categories

