Posted by: will | June 27, 2006

Angels & Airwaves…

Angels & Airwaves “We Don’t Need To Whisper” (Suretone/Geffen)

Just to preface this review…I have always loved Blink-182 and I’m not ashamed to admit it. So, I was excited to hear Blink-182 guitarist Tom DeLonge’s new band Angels & Airwaves. DeLonge has put his new band at quite a disadvantage by saying assinine things like Angels & Airwaves will save rock n’ roll. Not surprisingly the band underwhelms in light of DeLonge’s statements. Take the more emo moments of Blink and combine them with cringe worthy lyrics and an affinity for U2 and The Cure and there you have Angels & Airwaves.

The music critic in me would never allow me to actually recommend that somebody go out and buy this album. However, with that being said…I still find myself enjoying this album! Nevermind that I pull the shutters tight and put my headphones on when I do…that’s beside the point. DeLonge should be commended for trying to gain entrance into the serious musicians club. The fact is that I think a good many of “real” Blink fans who enjoyed DeLonge’s more introspective side will find something to like on We Don’t Need To Whisper. Whether they admit it or not will be another story.

RIYL: Blink-182, U2, The Cure

Listen: www.myspace.com/angelsandairwaves

Responses

  1. I love the new cd and I really like all the videos….especially Do it for me now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

