Posted by: will | May 30, 2006

I Love You But I’ve Chosen Darkness…

I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness "Fear Is On Our Side" (Secretly Canadian)

I've been a big fan of this band's name ever since hearing it for the first time a few years ago. I've never given the band a listen until now though. I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness hail from Austin, TX and play dark, moody post-punk/indie rock. The music certainly fits their name, that's for sure.

Fear Is On Our Side is the band's debut release and it's a strong album. This is an album that shows many different sides of the band. The band's strength doesn't necessarily lie in just one particular style. The twelve song album switches back and forth from straight forward tracks to longer running, more atmospheric songs. The band also throws in a few instrumentals as well which offers a nice change of pace. The band certainly knows their way around a subtle hook too. I find some of these songs getting mysteriously caught in my head.

As many things as the band does well, the album does lose some steam near the end. The album just grows tiring at over 52 minutes. The way the vocals are delivered has a tendency to become rather redundant. Fear Is On Our Side has a rather sterilized feeling to it at times and seems to lack in some much needed emotion.

All in all, this is a nice debut for I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness. The band is not there yet but the potential certainly is. I will definitely be keeping an eye on the band's future efforts.

RIYL: Interpol, Joy Division, Calla

Listen: I Love You But I've Chosen Darkness – According To Plan (mp3)

Leave a Reply

Categories

