Posted by: will | January 5, 2006

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah…

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah "Clap Your Hands Say Yeah" (Self-Released)

Where to begin? Well, unfortunately, this album is not as bad as I was expecting it to be. I had a scathing review all planned out in my head but I guess I'll have to save it for another day. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah stormed on to the scene in 2005. It's a nice little story really. A young band self-releases their debut album and do really well for themselves. I give them a lot of credit for that (actually I think hype machine Pitchfork deserves most of the credit). However, after numerous listens to this album I am still at a loss to why there has been such a big uproar made over this band. All I hear is some NYC art school hipsters hacking so many other bands that they don't even know which end is up anymore. These guys are probably so confused that they actually think they have created something original. Granted, they do knock off some good bands but that simply does not pull them out of mediocrity. And don't even get me started on the vocals. Ha, well, I guess this review turned out to be rather scathing after all. Go figure.

RIYL: Talking Heads, Interpol, Arcade Fire

Listen:

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – Upon This Tidal Wave Of Young Blood (mp3)

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah – Over And Over Again (Lost And Found) (mp3)

Responses

  1. i agree – this shit is annoying.

  2. […] Review: Go read my review of the band’s debut here. It applies to this album as […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

